Broken menu after translation.

General questions regarding the usage of CodeLite
soMan
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 1:18 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Broken menu after translation.

Post by soMan » Wed Jun 27, 2012 11:48 am

I'm translating CodeLite into russian and has a problem: after translating a perspective menu in main menu bar I get a broken menu. 'Default' and 'Debug' submenus just dissappeared. If I return to English the Perspective menu become OK. What could be a problem?

You can look at screenshots:
Original variant:
Image

Translated variant:
Image

DavidGH
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 597
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 7:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Broken menu after translation.

Post by DavidGH » Wed Jun 27, 2012 5:25 pm

Hi,

I can see why this is happening, and I've committed a fix (though without testing it in a locale with translations).

Please would you update to r5608 and check if it now works for you. It's possible that there may be additional bugs there...

Thanks,

David

soMan
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 1:18 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Broken menu after translation.

Post by soMan » Thu Jun 28, 2012 10:06 am

It's possible that there may be additional bugs there...
I agree. And please check it out below. If I'm not wrong I translated those string already (PoEdit tool can't find the same strings in non-translated strings) but still see them (pane's captions)in english.

Image

DavidGH
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 597
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 7:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Broken menu after translation.

Post by DavidGH » Thu Jun 28, 2012 12:00 pm

It's possible that there may be additional bugs there...
I meant with the 'Perspectives' menu.
...but still see them (pane's captions)in english.
That's intentional. Unfortunately, wxAui uses the caption as part of its way of identifying panes. If it's translated, that will break whenever anyone changes locale (the string loaded from .codelite/config will be different from the string that wxAui sees, so the pane won't be managed correctly).

Until wxAui is fixed (and everyone is using fixed versions) it's better not to translate.

soMan
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 1:18 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Now works

Post by soMan » Sat Jun 30, 2012 1:44 pm

Until wxAui is fixed (and everyone is using fixed versions) it's better not to translate.
Ok.
Please would you update to r5608 and check if it now works for you.
I am on r5611 and now it works. Perspectives are available in translatied version now. Thanks again.

Post Reply