Debugger

Post here any ideas/problems/suggestions you have regarding CodeLite's ExternalTools plugin
sumeet
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 7:22 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: c++
Contact:

Debugger

Post by sumeet »

I just updated my codelite version to 7.0 and the Debugger is not working. It says failed to locate gdb at gdb :o

I will be glad if i get a solution for this please :)
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6367
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Debugger

Post by eranif »

I am not sure why you posted this on the "External Tools".. but still:

Here is teh same question asked on stackoverflow.com which I answered:

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/2848 ... sr-bin-gdb

This happens because an extra space character was added to the tool "/usr/bin/gdb "

To fix this:

settings->build settings->compilers->your compiler name->Tools tab->gdb and remove the extra space at the end

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
sumeet
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 7:22 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: c++
Contact:

Re: Debugger

Post by sumeet »

sorry about that im very new here

hey but there is no path already visible in GDB option..its blank.....will u please help me give the debugger path so that i can jus browse and select it there :/
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6367
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Debugger

Post by eranif »

Please provide more information on your system etc, check my signature to see what is required

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
sumeet
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 7:22 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: c++
Contact:

Re: Debugger

Post by sumeet »

:Codelite version 7.0
:Normal exe download for windows
: windows 7
:MinGW ( CodeLite-4.8.1 )


here is a pic of what i see in gdb option, it was like that as default ...........https://www.dropbox.com/s/clbw6t00zt1s4 ... d.png?dl=0

pics of gdb setting............https://www.dropbox.com/s/31hc8i679qwm2dn/gdb.png?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/wcs6tn3yvnqhb74/gdb1.png?dl=0

once i start to debug............https://www.dropbox.com/s/x7qvgyhoxl83v ... d.png?dl=0



#Please help me solve this :( :/
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6367
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Debugger

Post by eranif »

Try setting a gdb executable from:

settings->build settings->compilers->MinGW (CodeLite-4.8.1)->Tools->Gdb

The path to gdb (based on your toolchain) should be:

C:/MinGW-4.8.1/bin/gdb.exe

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
sumeet
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 7:22 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: c++
Contact:

Re: Debugger

Post by sumeet »

Woaoaa it does nt gives the error anymore, thankyou wayy to much :) .... but a quick debugger check reveals this :( ...https://www.dropbox.com/s/clbw6t00zt1s4 ... d.png?dl=0

GDB ERROR: "-var-create: unable to create variable object"


what cool is you were the one wrote that error msg :D ...im sure its easy for you ???
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6367
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Debugger

Post by eranif »

Try write something in the loop you have, or gdb will simply refuse the create the variable for you (its a gdb error)

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
sumeet
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 7:22 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: c++
Contact:

Re: Debugger

Post by sumeet »

oh yes, its gdb's Err haha :/

hey thankyou!!! alot!!!, it works like charm! dude :) :D
EthernetFellow
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2015 4:20 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Debugger, Remote Debugging Raspberry

Post by EthernetFellow »

I try to activat remote debugging for Raspberry2 with Raspbian
- Codelite Version 9.0.5
- Cross compiler: arm-linux-gnueabihf-g++.exe
When calling the debugger I receive the following message:
could not connect to codelite-lldb at 'url:port'
I can not find codelite-lldb for Raspian (Debian).
How to install codelite-lltb on
Post Reply