little issue with new CodeLIte IDE and FreeBSD!

CodeLite installation/troubleshooting forum
varnie
CodeLite Veteran
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 3:48 am
Contact:

little issue with new CodeLIte IDE and FreeBSD!

Post by varnie »

hi, efran~
just faced a little issue related to FreeBSD.
the last CodeLite IDE on this moment has the following line in "configure" file on 241 line:
echo " \$(CMP) -o codelite_indexer \$(codelite_indexer_objects) -lpthread -ldl " >> MakeFile
and "gmake" fails to compile "codelite_indexer". when i tries, i get:
/usr/bin/ld: cannot find -ldl
during my searching i've discovered this thread, which claims that
This is not a FreeBSD library. The error is that your software is
trying to look for it in the first place.
and
FreeBSD does not have libdl. The dlopen()
family of functions are included in libc. Remove -ldl from the
Makefile and report this bug to the software coders.
i've followed this advice and after i've removed "-ldl" from the line in "configure" file quoted above i've successfully compiled codelite_indexer and all CodeLite IDE as well.
and now i have the last CodeLIte IDE compiled and installed on my FreeBSD 7.1 RELEASE box
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6372
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: little issue with new CodeLIte IDE and FreeBSD!

Post by eranif »

Thanks for reporting this, I will update the configure script.

Btw, what is the output of FreeBSD to: 'uname -s' command?

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
varnie
CodeLite Veteran
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 3:48 am
Contact:

Re: little issue with new CodeLIte IDE and FreeBSD!

Post by varnie »

eranif wrote:what is the output of FreeBSD to: 'uname -s' command?
it is simply
FreeBSD
:)
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6372
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: little issue with new CodeLIte IDE and FreeBSD!

Post by eranif »

configure script is fixed, I would appreciate if you can test it

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
varnie
CodeLite Veteran
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 3:48 am
Contact:

Re: little issue with new CodeLIte IDE and FreeBSD!

Post by varnie »

good day, eranif!~

i've just checked out CodeLite IDE's sources from svn.
and now "configure" script works well;) nice job ^_^

added:
i am sorry for my over-niceness/curiosity, but now i have bunch of the following logs in my console when i try to "Debug" my project in CodeLite IDE:

Code: Select all

ps: illegal option -- [
usage: ps [-aCcefHhjlmrSTuvwXxZ] [-O fmt | -o fmt] [-G gid[,gid...]]
              [-M core] [-N system]
              [-p pid[,pid...]] [-t tty[,tty...]] [-U user[,user...]]
          ps [-L]
ps: illegal option -- [
usage: ps [-aCcefHhjlmrSTuvwXxZ] [-O fmt | -o fmt] [-G gid[,gid...]]
              [-M core] [-N system]
              [-p pid[,pid...]] [-t tty[,tty...]] [-U user[,user...]]
          ps [-L]
ps: illegal option -- [
usage: ps [-aCcefHhjlmrSTuvwXxZ] [-O fmt | -o fmt] [-G gid[,gid...]]
              [-M core] [-N system]
              [-p pid[,pid...]] [-t tty[,tty...]] [-U user[,user...]]
          ps [-L]
...
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6372
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: little issue with new CodeLIte IDE and FreeBSD!

Post by eranif »

Ok, these messages are due to fix I applied to wxMac, basically codelite tries to launch this command:

Code: Select all

ps x -o tty,pid,command

to locate a terminal (using xterm) it launched so it could direct gdb stdin/out to it.

Maybe u can run this command line and tell me if it is the same error, and maybe you can point me to the correct command to use on FreeBSD

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
varnie
CodeLite Veteran
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 3:48 am
Contact:

Re: little issue with new CodeLIte IDE and FreeBSD!

Post by varnie »

Code: Select all

ps x -o tty,pid,command
hmm.. it seems to be valid command. just tried this one in the console without problems.
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6372
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: little issue with new CodeLIte IDE and FreeBSD!

Post by eranif »

how do you debug? do u use 'attach to process' or 'simple' debug?

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
varnie
CodeLite Veteran
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 3:48 am
Contact:

Re: little issue with new CodeLIte IDE and FreeBSD!

Post by varnie »

i use 'simple debug'.
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6372
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: little issue with new CodeLIte IDE and FreeBSD!

Post by eranif »

Quick question: beside the output, does the debugger work?

can u try a debug a simple hello world? Does it still happen there?
My problem is that codelite issues the ps command when debugging to locate the xterm that is has launched earlier for stdin/out redirecting. Now, the other location in the code
which issues 'ps' command is to get list of processes (but as you stated, this is not the case)

So, you might want to have a look at: consolefinder.cpp GetConsoleTty method, comment line 77

Code: Select all

m_ConsoleTty = GetConsoleTty(m_nConsolePid);
The debugging will probably wont work, but it will help us understand if this is the offending code

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
Post Reply