Page 1 of 3

Can't load debugger

Posted: Sat May 31, 2008 2:57 pm
by goosey
This may be a silly question, but why does CodeLite print the following error message when I start it?

13:52:01: Failed to load debugger's dll: h:\ohjelmat\CodeLite\debuggers\Debugger.dll

The file in question does exist, so I assume it's broken? What do I have to do in order to get
the debugger working?

I'm using CodeLite v1.0RC01, Windows version.

Re: Can't load debugger

Posted: Sat May 31, 2008 4:39 pm
by eranif
goosey wrote:This may be a silly question, but why does CodeLite print the following error message when I start it?

13:52:01: Failed to load debugger's dll: h:\ohjelmat\CodeLite\debuggers\Debugger.dll

The file in question does exist, so I assume it's broken? What do I have to do in order to get
the debugger working?

I'm using CodeLite v1.0RC01, Windows version.
Two questions:
- Can you try and install CodeLite under the default path? C:\Program Files\CodeLite?
- Do other plugins loaded successfully for you?

EDIT:
Which windows version are you using?
Eran

Re: Can't load debugger

Posted: Sat May 31, 2008 6:48 pm
by goosey
eranif wrote: Two questions:
- Can you try and install CodeLite under the default path? C:\Program Files\CodeLite?
Yeah, I tried that. Still doesn't work.
eranif wrote: - Do other plugins loaded successfully for you?
Here's the output that's printed on the Trace panel:

17:49:14: Failed to load debugger's dll: C:\Program Files\CodeLite\debuggers\Debugger.dll
17:49:15: Loaded plugin: Source Code Formatter (AStyle)
17:49:15: Loaded plugin: Copyright Plugin - a small plugin that allows you to place copyright block on top of your source files
17:49:15: Loaded plugin: Cscope Integration for CodeLite
17:49:15: Loaded plugin: Gizmos Plugin - a collection of useful utils for C++
17:49:15: Loaded plugin: Subversion
eranif wrote: Which windows version are you using?
I'm using Windows 2000 (service pack 4).

Re: Can't load debugger

Posted: Sat May 31, 2008 6:56 pm
by eranif
eranif wrote:I'm using Windows 2000 (service pack 4).
Ok, thats explains it all...
In the debugger code, I am using "DebugBreakProcess()" to interrupt the running debugger. According to the MSDN, this function "Requires Windows Vista or Windows XP." (and I also have a TODO one on this one... :oops: )

I can bind it dynamically but I still need to find a workaround for this for Windows version lower than XP.

Eran

Re: Can't load debugger

Posted: Sat May 31, 2008 8:19 pm
by eranif
Hi,

I have built a new debugger which binds the offending code on Windows 2000 dynamically, so it should work now (did not test it, but I think it should work OK)

http://codelite.org/download/debugger_p ... bugger.zip

Installation:
Download the zipped file (about 247KB)
Replace the new Debugger.dll with the old one

Side effects for this debugger:
1. When debugging console applications: None - I expect all to work well.
2. When debugging GUI applications: The "interrupt" (blue pause button in the toolbar) command will not work, that is, you will need to stop the debugger, place the breakpoint and start the debug session again.

Please test it and let me know if it works for you.

Eran

Re: Can't load debugger

Posted: Sun Jun 01, 2008 10:55 am
by goosey
I tried the new DLL, but CodeLite still prints the same error message :(

Re: Can't load debugger

Posted: Sun Jun 01, 2008 1:23 pm
by eranif
goosey wrote:I tried the new DLL, but CodeLite still prints the same error message :(
I am really sorry, but there is probably something that I missed - but I dont really know what (I dont have access to Win2000)

The only way to go (that I can think of) is maybe u can download CodeLite sources and build it your self? if you choose to do so, I will be happy to assist in compiling it under Windows.

Eran

Re: Can't load debugger

Posted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 9:50 am
by goosey
eranif wrote: The only way to go (that I can think of) is maybe u can download CodeLite sources and build it your self? if you choose to do so, I will be happy to assist in compiling it under Windows.
OK, I downloaded the sources from the SVN repository. What do I have to do next? :)

Re: Can't load debugger

Posted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 10:00 am
by eranif
First:

You need to have wxWidgets installed, if you dont have one, you can get it from here ( a pre-compiled binaries):
http://wxpack.sourceforge.net/Main/Downloads

set up 2 environment variables:

Code: Select all

WXWIN=C:/path/to/your/wx/ (e.g. C:\wxWidgets-2.8.7)
WXCFG=gcc_dll\mswu
- Start CodeLite
- Open the file C:\path\to\codelite\sources\trunk\LiteEditor.workspace
- Select active configuration to be "WinReleaseUnicode"
- Hit the build key

If you get any errors in the middle, let me (I am monitoring this thread, so you should get a response ASAP)

Eran

Re: Can't load debugger

Posted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 11:10 am
by goosey
I've encountered a little problem: wxWidgets requires about 2,5 gigabytes of disk space, and it won't allow me to change the drive where it will be installed. It insists on installing on the C drive, which is kind of stupid. As my C drive is rather small (only 1,99 gigabytes in total), it seems that I'm unable to install wxWidgets.