Page 1 of 1

Codelite failed to clean project in windows 7 32 bit.

Posted: Thu Jul 08, 2021 11:57 am
by rajin100000

When I clean a project, there are two errors:-

Code: Select all

C:\Windows\system32\cmd.exe /C D:/IDE/CodeBlocks/MinGW/bin/mingw32-make.exe -j4 SHELL=cmd.exe -e -f  Makefile clean
"----------Cleaning project:[ Helloworld - Debug ]----------"
mingw32-make.exe[1]: Entering directory 'C:/Users/User/Desktop/CPPworkspace/Helloworld'
rm -f -r ../build-Debug/Helloworld
process_begin: CreateProcess(NULL, rm -f -r ../build-Debug/Helloworld, ...) failed.
make (e=2): The system cannot find the file specified.
mingw32-make.exe[1]: *** [Helloworld.mk:110: clean] Error 2
mingw32-make.exe: *** [Makefile:8: clean] Error 2
mingw32-make.exe[1]: Leaving directory 'C:/Users/User/Desktop/CPPworkspace/Helloworld'
====0 errors, 0 warnings====

What to do now?


Re: Codelite failed to clean project in windows 7 32 bit.

Posted: Fri Jul 09, 2021 11:29 am
by eranif

It seems that it can not find rm utility which is strange, given that it comes with CodeLite...
I wonder if it is a 64 vs 32 bit issue.

You can install MSYS2, and add its /usr/bin/ path to your PATH.
For example, if I would install MSYS2 under:

C:\msys64

Then inside CodeLite, go to:

settings -> environment variables
and add:

Code: Select all

PATH=C:\msys64\usr\bin;$PATH

then, try to build again


Re: Codelite failed to clean project in windows 7 32 bit.

Posted: Fri Jul 09, 2021 3:02 pm
by rajin100000

I'm using 32-bit Windows 7, How can I download MSYS2? I think I need to download git bash/Cygwin for this. Because they have 32-bit versions. But I don't know which path to add to them. Btw, codelite 12 is the latest version that can use this command without requiring any other tools. And do I need to put a semicolon after Codelite path?


Re: Codelite failed to clean project in windows 7 32 bit.

Posted: Fri Jul 09, 2021 3:25 pm
by rajin100000

Hey, thanks! It worked! I just put my usr/bin folder of git-bash in the Codelite environment variables. And It worked nicely. However, the "press any key to continue" is not going to the next line. Instead, it is in the same line where I'm in. And for some reason, it is making the executable file in debug folder (project directory), but the previous time, it was making the executable file in a build-debug folder in the workspace directory.