Input to debugger?

CodeLite installation/troubleshooting forum
mitrof
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 4:09 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Input to debugger?

Post by mitrof »

Hello,

I've got a C++ project using the Debug Adapter Client (lldb-vscode). CodeLite 7.1.0 Windows11 and MacOSX Ventura 13.2.1

All is working fine, but I cannot for the life of me figure out where to enter program input.
I see an Ouput/Module window and program output appears there -- no problems. Locals, breakpoints, watches -- all good.

However, if have a simple statement such as:
cin >> x;
where do I actually provide this input? The Output/Module won't take it. There is no console open anywhere where I can provide input.
Maybe I'm not seeing the obvious. All help would be appreciated.
I see the same issue on Windows and Mac.

Also, does anyone know whether it's possible to close some of these debugger windows? For example, if I wanted to close the Breakpoints or Threads windows, how do I do it? I can move them around, float them, etc. but not close them.

Thanks!

mitrof
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 4:09 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Input to debugger?

Post by mitrof »

Update:

When I run a project in CodeLite 16.8.0 using lldb-vscode as the debugger I DO get a console application where I can provide program input.
This window does NOT appear with CodeLite 17.1 on Windows or Mac.

Thanks

User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6367
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Input to debugger?

Post by eranif »

The input is typed into the black console (CMD) that comes up (just tried that with v17.2 and it works)

Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
mitrof
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 4:09 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Input to debugger?

Post by mitrof »

I'm trying to reproduce this as best I can.

Yes, I see that console in 16.8 on Windows 11

17.1 clean install - no console
Removed 17.1 and installed 16.8 - I see the console
Removed 16.8 and installed 17.1 again and I see the console.

I see no console on Mac using 17.0

I'll open an issue on Github once I get a better idea of what's up.

How can I install 16.8 on Mac to see if the same thing happens?
Brew isn't too helpful here :)

Another quick question: why separate input and output areas? Why not do it all in a single console as it's been done forever :)

Thanks

User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6367
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Input to debugger?

Post by eranif »

Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
mitrof
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 4:09 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Input to debugger?

Post by mitrof »

Thanks.
I just tried it on Ubuntu jammy / CodeLite 17.0 and I get the same issue - no terminal when using lldb-vscode.
This was the first-time installation of any CodeLite version on this system.

I've seen the same behavior on Windows, Mac, and now Linux.
All with first-time CodeLite installations.

Are there any specific log files that would be useful to you when I open an issue?
Thanks again.

User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6367
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Input to debugger?

Post by eranif »

usually, depends on the version of CodeLite, logs are placed under:
~/.codelite/logs/ or ~/.codelite/

The lldb-vscode log is placed under dap.log file

Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
Post Reply