Page 1 of 1

Input to debugger?

Posted: Tue Feb 28, 2023 5:07 am
by mitrof

Hello,

I've got a C++ project using the Debug Adapter Client (lldb-vscode). CodeLite 7.1.0 Windows11 and MacOSX Ventura 13.2.1

All is working fine, but I cannot for the life of me figure out where to enter program input.
I see an Ouput/Module window and program output appears there -- no problems. Locals, breakpoints, watches -- all good.

However, if have a simple statement such as:
cin >> x;
where do I actually provide this input? The Output/Module won't take it. There is no console open anywhere where I can provide input.
Maybe I'm not seeing the obvious. All help would be appreciated.
I see the same issue on Windows and Mac.

Also, does anyone know whether it's possible to close some of these debugger windows? For example, if I wanted to close the Breakpoints or Threads windows, how do I do it? I can move them around, float them, etc. but not close them.

Thanks!


Re: Input to debugger?

Posted: Fri Mar 03, 2023 9:06 am
by mitrof

Update:

When I run a project in CodeLite 16.8.0 using lldb-vscode as the debugger I DO get a console application where I can provide program input.
This window does NOT appear with CodeLite 17.1 on Windows or Mac.

Thanks


Re: Input to debugger?

Posted: Fri Mar 03, 2023 10:49 pm
by eranif

The input is typed into the black console (CMD) that comes up (just tried that with v17.2 and it works)


Re: Input to debugger?

Posted: Fri Mar 03, 2023 11:39 pm
by mitrof

I'm trying to reproduce this as best I can.

Yes, I see that console in 16.8 on Windows 11

17.1 clean install - no console
Removed 17.1 and installed 16.8 - I see the console
Removed 16.8 and installed 17.1 again and I see the console.

I see no console on Mac using 17.0

I'll open an issue on Github once I get a better idea of what's up.

How can I install 16.8 on Mac to see if the same thing happens?
Brew isn't too helpful here :)

Another quick question: why separate input and output areas? Why not do it all in a single console as it's been done forever :)

Thanks


Re: Input to debugger?

Posted: Sat Mar 04, 2023 5:32 pm
by eranif

Re: Input to debugger?

Posted: Sat Mar 04, 2023 7:53 pm
by mitrof

Thanks.
I just tried it on Ubuntu jammy / CodeLite 17.0 and I get the same issue - no terminal when using lldb-vscode.
This was the first-time installation of any CodeLite version on this system.

I've seen the same behavior on Windows, Mac, and now Linux.
All with first-time CodeLite installations.

Are there any specific log files that would be useful to you when I open an issue?
Thanks again.


Re: Input to debugger?

Posted: Sat Mar 11, 2023 3:28 pm
by eranif

usually, depends on the version of CodeLite, logs are placed under:
~/.codelite/logs/ or ~/.codelite/

The lldb-vscode log is placed under dap.log file