Page 1 of 1

codelite is moving to GIT

Posted: Fri Feb 01, 2013 3:13 pm
by eranif
Hi all,

As of today Feb 1st, 2013, codelite is moving to GIT instead of SVN

On windows, if you havn't done so by now, install msys-git:

http://code.google.com/p/msysgit/downloads/list

When installing, choose OpenSSH instead of PuTTY (PuTTY with git caused me problems, so this is an advise not a must)

to clone codelite's repo (Read Only):

Code: Select all

git clone git://git.code.sf.net/p/codelite/codelitegit codelitegit
Eran

Re: codelite is moving to GIT

Posted: Sun Feb 03, 2013 6:43 pm
by jfouche
Hello Eran,

I downloaded MSYSGit (Git-1.8.1.2-preview20130201.exe), but there was no way to choose between PUTTY and OpenSSH.
When I execute the command provided, I encounter :

Code: Select all

Welcome to Git (version 1.8.1.2-preview20130201)


Run 'git help git' to display the help index.
Run 'git help <command>' to display help for specific commands.
jeremie@HAL ~
$ cd /D/_perso/projects/
jeremie@HAL /D/_perso/projects
$ git clone git://git.code.sf.net/p/codelite/codelitegit codelitegit
Cloning into 'codelitegit'...
fatal: unable to connect to git.code.sf.net:
git.code.sf.net[0: 216.34.181.155]: errno=No error
Any clue ?

Re: codelite is moving to GIT

Posted: Sun Feb 03, 2013 7:17 pm
by eranif
I just tried the to clone the repo as an anonymous user - no problem here.
2 things that I can think of:

- I am using different installer http://code.google.com/p/msysgit/downlo ... e&can=2&q= (which was the latest couple of days ago..)
I used this installer: http://code.google.com/p/msysgit/downlo ... e&can=2&q= , try it maybe it will make a different
- I am using ssh over putty, even in the installer you used there is an option to choose OpenSSH (by default):
git.png
Eran

Re: codelite is moving to GIT

Posted: Sun Feb 03, 2013 9:06 pm
by jfouche
:shock:

I retried with both installer : I don't see the "Choosing the SSH executable" page ...
I just have :
- Select components
- Adjusting path
- Configure line ending
Am I blind ?

Re: codelite is moving to GIT

Posted: Mon Feb 04, 2013 12:46 pm
by eranif
jfouche wrote:Am I blind ?
Maybe the reason I get this screen is that I have putty installed and it is in the system PATH environment variable? i.e. maybe this page is conditional depends on the current environment

Eran

Re: codelite is moving to GIT

Posted: Mon Feb 04, 2013 11:57 pm
by jfouche
I tried the http protocol instead of the git one :

Code: Select all

$ git clone http://git.code.sf.net/p/codelite/codelitegit codelite
and was able to clone the project :shock:

My 2 cents if somebody encounter the same problem...

[edit] .. but it tooks 2 hours to clone it...

Re: codelite is moving to GIT

Posted: Tue Feb 05, 2013 4:43 pm
by eranif
jfouche wrote:[edit] .. but it tooks 2 hours to clone it...
This is because the http protocol is *very* slow compared to the git / ssh protocols.
For comparison, cloning with git took me around 2 minutes

However, it should be relatively fast now to 'git pull'

Eran

Re: codelite is moving to GIT

Posted: Tue Mar 12, 2013 11:04 pm
by petah
are mailing lists deprecated or will the CVS list be replaced by git email notifications?

whatever lists survive, it'd be great to add them to the gmane archive. I read gmane lists via NNTP in my email client; it doesn't require formal subscription/registration for read-only and has cool features like spam-filtering, ignore thread, etc.

FYI:
http://sourceforge.net/apps/trac/sourceforge/wiki/Git
http://larsmichelsen.com/open-source/ad ... e-net-git/
http://gmane.org/subscribe.php

thx!

-- p